momknowsbetter

Children think they know.. but they have noooo idea!

But I don’t wanna share!

on March 9, 2012

No.. This isn’t about Dylan having trouble sharing.. it’s about the mom.

Dylan goes to his dad’s house every-other weekend. He loves going over there. He has a whole different set of toys and movies and people to see when he goes there. But I don’t wanna share!

I do LOVE my quiet time and getting to run errands and see my friends and be an adult.. But I also love cuddles, watching cartoons (without having to explain why a 24-year-old is watching Scooby Doo in the middle of the day), and going on walks or ‘exploring’ just isn’t the same without a tiny imaginative brain telling you not to step on leaves cause you will fall through the sky and Iron Man will have to catch you before you hit the ground and explode. (It’s a scary thought..)

About half-way through the week Dylan will say “I miss my dad. When is he picking me up?” I have to explain the concept of ‘a few more days’ and try not to say “BUT I DONT WANNA SHARE!”

I’m the oldest child and a mom.. I have a little bit of a desire to control a given situation. So I’m thinking that my problem is that the control is out of my hands when Dylan isn’t with me, and it drives me nuts! I’m not super controlling.. I just like to know whats going on.. who, what, where, why, when..

Do all parents go through this?? Whether your single or not?

2 responses to “But I don’t wanna share!

  1. Vince Chough says:

    You are just experiencing your mom instincts to provide and protect your son. You might not be able to do anything about it though… of course sharing is hard!

  2. […] read a post yesterday on momknowsbetter (https://momknowsbetter.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/but-i-dont-wanna-share/) that made me think. In my situation (no contact with the other “parent”) I was […]

Leave a Reply

